The Nomad Flute

by W.S. Merwin

the-nomad-fluteYou that sang to me once sing to me now

let me hear your long lifted note

survive with me

the star is fading

I can think farther than that but I forget

do you hear me
.

do you still hear me

does your air

remember you

oh breath of morning

night song morning song

I have with me

all that I do not know

I have lost none of it
.

but I know better now

than to ask you

where you learned that music

where any of it came from

once there were lions in China
.

I will listen until the flute stops

and the light is old again.
.
the-shadow-of-siriusA final reminder that Bill Ellis and Graeme Hughes will be reading and discussing a selection of poems from W. S. Merwin’s book, The Shadow of Sirius, on January 26, 2017. “The Nomad Flute” will be one of the featured poems.
.
See the
SCHEDULE PAGE for the complete list.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poem, Reminder

Leave a Reply

