Song For A Winter’s Night

by Gordon Lightfoot

song-for-a-winters-nightThe lamp is burning low upon my table top
The snow is softly falling
The air is still in the silence of my room
I hear your voice softly calling
If I could only have you near
To breathe a sigh or two
I would be happy just to hold the hands I love
On this winter night with you
.                                    
The smoke is rising in the shadows overhead
My glass is almost empty
I read again between the lines upon each page
The words of love you sent me
If I could know within my heart, that you were lonely too
I would be happy just to hold the hands I love
On this winter night with you
.                                    
The fire is dying now, my lamp is growing dim
The shades of night are lifting
The morning light steals across my windowpane
Where webs of snow are drifting
If I could only have you near, to breathe a sigh or two
I would be happy just to hold the hands I love
And to be once again with you
On this winter night with you

 

Leave a comment

Filed under News, Poem

Leave a Reply

