I Look Out Over The Timeless Sea

by R. S. Thomas

I Look Out Over The Timeless SeaI look out over the timeless sea
over the head of one, calendar
to time’s passing, who is now open
at the last month, her hair wintry.

Am I catalyst of her mettle that,
at my approach, her grimace of pain
turns to a smile? What it is saying is:
“Over love’s depths only the surface is wrinkled.”

Listen to R. S. Thomas read this poem: I Look Out Over The Timeless Sea

Leave a comment

Filed under Audio, Poem

Leave a Reply

